Intolerance to gluten and disease celiac, an autoimmune reaction to the ingestion of this, affect millions of Americans. Gluten is a protein found in common grains, including wheat and rye, but can be found in a long list of other cereal grains, along with a number of processed foods. If you are going to recover your health for a life by eating it, it is very important to eliminate it completely from your diet in order to take advantage of all the benefits of eating gluten free.
Grains with gluten
Most people are aware that this is found in wheat. It is also found in ancient wheat forms, including spelled, kamut and spelled. Other grains that contain it are rye, triticale and barley. Because wheat can be called by numerous names, check food labels for ingredients such as semolina, bulgur, durum flour, flour and bran. Foods that may contain wheat and other glutinous grains and others include bread, pasta, cakes, sweets, beer, matzo, sauce, many sauces, such as soy, French fries, seasoned snacks, soup bases, processed meat And dressings for salads. Read labels carefully and consult with restaurant staff about gluten-free options.
There are a number of food additives that contain gluten or can be made from wheat or other problematic cereals. Processed foods are replete with these possible additives loaded from them, so check the background labels or simply avoid processed foods. Beware of malt syrup, colored caramel and artificial flavor, stabilizers, enzymes, vegetable proteins and starchy vegetables, according to celiac. com, many of these ingredients can be derived from grains that contain it, and the only way to know for sure in many cases is to contact the manufacturer. The expert in gluten and medical comprehensive medicine Amy Myers, MD, also suggests avoiding citric acid, dextrin, flavors, glucose syrup and maltodextrin, which may or may not contain it.
Another issue to consider when trying to avoid gluten altogether in the cross-contamination issue, safe food can come in contact with it in any part of the kitchen manufacturing process. The main culprits of gluten contamination include cooking utensils such as grill tops and toasters, which can contaminate gluten-free foods with ease in the preparation process. Steamed vegetables in restaurants are often cooked with leftover water from cooking the pasta.Some gluten-free cereals such as oatmeal and quinoa can have cross-contamination with this in the manufacturing process, look for certified gluten-free products that are tested for gluten content.
Preparing meals in your own clean kitchen with all the ingredients is the best way to eliminate gluten from your diet altogether. There are also a number of restaurants, bakeries, food companies and grain suppliers that now serve gluten-sensitive people by keeping them out of their kitchens and manufacturing processes. While the list of foods that potentially contain gluten may seem daunting, American culture seems to be catching up with its free lifestyle, offering more options than ever before.